NEO 9 – mix and interview with DJ Phaze

dj phaze

New in our mix series is an upfront selection of footwork bangers, all his own productions, from Chicago’s DJ Phaze.

Check out the mix here, and our interview with Phaze after the embed.

How did you first come across footwork? Coming from Chicago has the style always been around for you?

I came across footwork when in 2000. Going to this place called rainbow or others may know it as the rink on 87th and I remember whenever the dj played juke or footwork I would have an exponential amount of energy and good vibes. The music has always been around even before me as well as the dancing, every generation it evolves.

Footwork has exploded over here in the UK and worldwide in recent years…has that international success caused changes in the home scene? 

The only change i see it has made is that more people are listening and appreciating the music as well as we are and i am thankful for it. oh yeah i cant forget about people from all over coming to footwork events.

How did you make the move into producing your own tracks?

In 2006 I asked the Dj at Markham at the time name Dj Ro, to give me FL studio and some footwork drums and I went from there on my own until 2007. I found out my cousin was making footwork music, his name was DJ Speed (rest in peace). So i asked him if he could show me how to make footwork music and he never showed me but he pushed me to be better and better and gave me really good critiques until I realized that he was only showing me what was in me all along.

How do you put together your tracks, what is your process?

I just go with the flow and that’s just my personality. Nothing too technical, I do have to have complete concentration, no one can disturb me while i am in my zone.

How do you get your stuff out there?

I get my music out there through Soundcloud Facebook or Twitter.

I’ll soon have my youtube back up and running. (watch this space for the link)

With so much music at everyone’s fingertips do you find it a challenge to get heard?

I don’t even think about that part because if you do then you’ll never have time to focus on your craft or your music. I just do what i do to the best of my ability and believe in myself that i will get heard.

Tell me about your mix.

My mix is full of nothing but my traxx I’ve made over time. So you really get to hear me in three different mindsets so it was fun to do. Its also a display of what is yet to come for future releases!

What’s next for you? Have you got any releases or videos we can look forward to?

Whats next for me is a EP I am doing called (straight wurkz) that’ll come in due time. I have no release date nor do I have an idea of what i am putting on it.

As far as releases I am featured on a EP called FUSION COMPILATION 01 ‪#‎ROUGHKUTZ‬ & ‪#‎ABSTRACTIONS‬. I have a track on there called other laws. You can go on FUSION’s Bandcamp. I am also featured on juke worldwide which will be out soon.

We can’t wait to hear more from Phaze – follow him on Soundcloud and Twitter to stay in the loop with his new releases.

Leave a comment